Edgio Gets $5 Million in VC Money

The image “https://i0.wp.com/www.edgeio.com/img/en/img-logotop.gif” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

VentureBeat’s Matt Marshall covers the site and the funding. Here’s the press release (pdf).

Edgeio is an ambitious, would-be global classifieds site in the “Web 2.0” mold (e.g., tagging, distribution/syndication). Obviously the classifieds space is hot and increasingly competitive, with Craigslist, LiveDeal, Oodle, MSFT Live Expo, newspapers and bazillions of verticals and so on. But this infusion of money will give Edgeio the ability to keep going and potentially become a recognized brand.

Here’s my first pre-launch posting on the company when I was still with The Kelsey Group.

7 Responses to “Edgio Gets $5 Million in VC Money”

  1. Keith Teare’s Weblog » edgeio secures $5m series A financing Says:

    […] Rob Hof has covered the news here. Techmeme here And Venturebeat here Greg Sterling here […]

  2. AhmedF Says:

    I don’t get edgeio. I am a fairly technical person, but I really do not get edgeio.

    I remember Mike mentioning how it only cost $75k to setup the site – I Guess the 5 million will go towards marketing huh?

  3. Techcrunch » Blog Archive » Edgeio Closes $5 Million Series A Financing Says:

    […] I won’t say much more here due to the conflict of interest (I remain on the board of directors of edgeio and am a stockholder). For other coverage, see BusinessWeek, VentureBeat, and Greg Sterling. I’ll add more links here as additional coverage comes in. No Tags […]

  4. cbmeeks Says:

    Man, 5mil isn’t too bad for a classified site. hmmmm….. 🙂

    Am I wrong or is edgio just a list of other sites like Amazon, etc?

    cbmeeks
    http://www.codershangout.com

  5. TechCrunch Japanese アーカイブ » Edgeio、シリーズAで$5M(500万ドル)を調達 Says:

    […] 利益のコンフリクトが絡むことなので詳細はご報告できないが(私自身はこれまで通りedgeio取締役兼株主)、この件についてはBusinessWeek、VentureBeat、Greg Sterlingなどの関連記事を参照されたい。新たな報道が入り次第、以下にリンクを追加していくつもりだ。2月のedgeioローンチに関するエントリはこちら。 […]

  6. Edgeio Closes $5 Million Series A Financing » JenIT Says:

    […] I won’t say much more here due to the conflict of interest (I remain on the board of directors of edgeio and am a stockholder). For other coverage, see BusinessWeek, VentureBeat, and Greg Sterling. I’ll add more links here as additional coverage comes in. […]

  7. » Edgeio closes doors after burning $5M in one year Web 2.0 Money: The Money & Business Behind the Web 2.0 Innovations Says:

    […] https://gesterling.wordpress.com/2006/10/24/edgio-gets-5-million-in-vc-money/ […]

Comments are closed.