Will You Buy the Apple iPad/iSlate?

Next week is Apple tablet launch week. There are two pieces of research out trying to gauge consumer interest in the device. First is ChangeWave (n=3,314), which says that 18% of consumers are somewhat or very interested:

Here’s what the firm said about pricing and willingness to pay:

Among interested consumers, three-quarters say they’re willing to pay $500 or more for the new ‘iSlate,’ and 37% say they’d pay more than $700.

Retrevo also did a consumer survey (n=500) about the anticipated tablet and specific content and features:

As far as pricing is concerned, 70% of Retrevo’s respondents said they wouldn’t pay more than $700 for the device:

There’s a rumor that there will be an “unlocked” version of the iPad/iSlate and one that may be subsidized by a carrier such as Verizon (for perhaps $200 less). Pricing is probably the key to the mainstream success of the tablet (assuming its a great product).

What’s the maximum amount you would pay for the Apple device?

7 Responses to “Will You Buy the Apple iPad/iSlate?”

  1. Ben Saren Says:

    I’m anxious for the announcement and yeah, I think I’m going to scoop one up. Can’t wait for a new toy! I will feel bad for all the people who have bought Kindles, once this puppy comes out. It’s like buying a black/white TV just before color came out.

  2. Greg Sterling Says:

    Exactamente . . . the Kindle will survive for two reasons I think:

    The developer SDK they just announced and the fact that the basic Kindle is going to be so much cheaper than this device, absent a really aggressive carrier subsidy.

  3. The Praized Blog » Blog Archive » The Next Developer Landgrab: The Kindle? Says:

    […] rumors of the impending arrival of the Apple Tablet, Amazon announced this week that they’re opening the Kindle, their famous […]

  4. Everybody Wants the iPad? « Screenwerk Says:

    […] Wants the iPad? By Greg Sterling Previously I posted some third party data on demand for the forthcoming Apple tablet. For example, ChangeWave found that 18% of just over 3K US consumers surveyed said they were […]

  5. Everybody Wants the iPad? / what consumes me, bud caddell Says:

    […] I posted some third party data on demand for the forthcoming Apple tablet. For example, ChangeWave found that 18% of just over 3K US consumers surveyed said they were […]

  6. hanum Says:

    really awesome gadget. Great innovation. I like it.

  7. Erik Says:

    Probably my biggest block from buying it would be security, I guess.
    Anybody knows how secure this thing really is?
    Should I put my valuable stuff on it fearlessly or should I keep on carrying my encrypted usb drive with me?

Comments are closed.


