NYT Turns Local Blog Over to J Students

The NY Times said that it’s turning over control of one of its local blogs, covering Brooklyn, to journalism students from CUNY:

The New York Times is turning over day-to-day control of a blog covering parts of Brooklyn to the City University of New York Graduate School of Journalism, in what could be a model for expanding hyper-local coverage to many communities at minimal cost.

While The Times has assigned reporters and editors to its two community blogs, dubbed The Local, most of their content already comes from outside contributors, including readers who submit articles, tips, comments, video and other material. Now, the daily responsibility for operating the blog covering Fort Greene and Clinton Hill will rest not with Times journalists, but with professors and students at the CUNY program.

The other Local blog, for Maplewood, Millburn and South Orange, will continue to be operated by Times personnel.

As the post indicates, this would seem to be a model that other publications could emulate fairly easily. The statement about “minimal cost” above suggests that contributors are not paid at all or paid nominal amounts.

One Response to “NYT Turns Local Blog Over to J Students”

  1. Samual Merz Says:

    thank very much for this great blog;this is the kind of thing that keep me wake up through out my day. I’ve been look around for this site after I hear about them from a buddy and was delight when I was able to encounter it after searching for some time. Being a avid blogger, I’m dazzled to see others taking initivative and contributing to the community. I just desire to notice to show my appreciation for your website as it’s very appleaing, and many writers do not get credit they deserve I am sure I’ll visit again and will spread the give voice to my friends.

Comments are closed.


