AmericanTowns Offers Improved Design

Often in my writing about local I neglect to discuss American Towns. The site has been around for a long long time and keeps growing under the radar. It’s presented as a kind of local portal with a broad range of content and listings. 

Over the past two years American Towns has become a syndication partner for others in the local space  (e.g., Trulia, Oodle and others). They also syndicate their event lists to third party sites. The site has gotten better and better but has been somewhat clunky to use until now. 

I ran into Ted Buerger, Chairman of AmericanTowns at the Inman conference last week. He told me about the redesign, which dramatically improves the user experience I think.  

Picture 7

With a cleaner and better “UX” I suspect we’ll see a bump in growth. I think the site is also now a takeover target.

One Response to “AmericanTowns Offers Improved Design”

  1. paster Says:

    This site is getting nicer. Would be good if someone came up with a better name or one that covers USA and Canada. The only names naturally capable of a North American wide directory are http://www.our.ca and http://www.our.us but they arent developed yet.

Comments are closed.


