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	<title>Screenwerk</title>
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	<link>http://gesterling.wordpress.com</link>
	<description>Greg Sterling's Thoughts on Online and Offline Media</description>
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		<title>Screenwerk</title>
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		<item>
		<title>Update Your Feeds: Screenwerk</title>
		<link>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/update-your-feeds-screenwerk/</link>
		<comments>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/update-your-feeds-screenwerk/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 28 Jun 2010 17:22:55 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Greg Sterling</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Blog related]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://gesterling.wordpress.com/?p=17802</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Soon this blog will be phased out and all the action will be over at Screenwerk.com. Here&#8217;s the direct feed and here is the comments feed.<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=gesterling.wordpress.com&#038;blog=67599&#038;post=17802&#038;subd=gesterling&#038;ref=&#038;feed=1" width="1" height="1" />]]></description>
				<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Soon this blog will be phased out and all the action will be over at <a href="http://www.screenwerk.com/">Screenwerk.com</a>.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.screenwerk.com/"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-17803" title="Picture 23" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-231.png?w=450&#038;h=333" alt="" width="450" height="333" /></a></p>
<p>Here&#8217;s the <a href="http://feeds.feedburner.com/screenwerk">direct feed</a> and  here is the <a href="http://feeds.feedburner.com/screenwerkcomments">comments feed</a>.</p>
<br />  <a rel="nofollow" href="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/gocomments/gesterling.wordpress.com/17802/"><img alt="" border="0" src="http://feeds.wordpress.com/1.0/comments/gesterling.wordpress.com/17802/" /></a> <img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=gesterling.wordpress.com&#038;blog=67599&#038;post=17802&#038;subd=gesterling&#038;ref=&#038;feed=1" width="1" height="1" />]]></content:encoded>
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		<slash:comments>17</slash:comments>
	
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		<title>Head on Over to Screenwerk.com</title>
		<link>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/17/17795/</link>
		<comments>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/17/17795/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 17 Jun 2010 22:53:52 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Greg Sterling</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Blog related]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://gesterling.wordpress.com/?p=17795</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Finally I&#8217;ve had the blog redone. Head on over to Screenwerk.com to see it. It&#8217;s simple yet more polished, dry yet flavorful, sweet yet sour, sarcastic yet sincere: Get the new feed here, or you can subscribe and get all my posts from Search Engine Land, Internet2Go and this blog at twitter.com/gsterling. The content on [&#8230;]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=gesterling.wordpress.com&#038;blog=67599&#038;post=17795&#038;subd=gesterling&#038;ref=&#038;feed=1" width="1" height="1" />]]></description>
				<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Finally I&#8217;ve had the blog redone. Head on over to <a href="http://www.screenwerk.com/">Screenwerk.com</a> to see it.</p>
<p>It&#8217;s simple yet more polished, dry yet flavorful, sweet yet sour, sarcastic yet sincere:</p>
<p><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-17796" title="Picture 22" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-221.png?w=450&#038;h=233" alt="" width="450" height="233" /></p>
<p>Get the <a href="http://feeds.feedburner.com/screenwerk">new feed here</a>, or you can subscribe and get all my posts from Search Engine Land, Internet2Go and this blog at <a href="http://twitter.com/gsterling">twitter.com/gsterling</a>.</p>
<p>The content on this site will soon disappear, because it&#8217;s all duplicated over at Screenwerk.com.</p>
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		<slash:comments>20</slash:comments>
	
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		<title>NY Times Top Newspaper Online, High CPMs</title>
		<link>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/16/ny-times-top-newspaper-online-high-cpms/</link>
		<comments>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/16/ny-times-top-newspaper-online-high-cpms/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 16 Jun 2010 18:47:41 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Greg Sterling</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Newspapers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Traditional media]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://gesterling.wordpress.com/?p=17781</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Comscore has put out a ranking of the top newspaper sites online, as well as CPM rates by site category. Here are the charts: Online newspapers have the highest CPM rates of the categories covered by comScore in the chart above. They don&#8217;t have the most impressions however. According to Nielsen and suggested by the [&#8230;]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=gesterling.wordpress.com&#038;blog=67599&#038;post=17781&#038;subd=gesterling&#038;ref=&#038;feed=1" width="1" height="1" />]]></description>
				<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Comscore has put out a ranking of the <a href="http://comscore.com/Press_Events/Press_Releases/2010/6/The_New_York_Times_Ranks_as_Top_Online_Newspaper_According_to_May_2010_U.S._comScore_Media_Metrix_Data">top newspaper sites</a> online, as well as CPM rates by site category. Here are the charts:</p>
<p><a href="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-93.png"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-17783" title="Picture 9" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-93.png?w=450" alt=""   /></a></p>
<p><a href="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-84.png"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-17782" title="Picture 8" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-84.png?w=450&#038;h=407" alt="" width="450" height="407" /></a></p>
<p>Online newspapers have the highest CPM rates of the categories covered by comScore in the chart above. They don&#8217;t have the most impressions however. According to <a href="http://blog.nielsen.com/nielsenwire/online_mobile/social-media-accounts-for-22-percent-of-time-online/">Nielsen</a> and suggested by the graphic immediately above, social media (including blogs) now capture &#8220;one in every four and a half minutes online.&#8221;</p>
<p>The NY Times is planning to reintroduce paid access for its site. How this will affect CPM rates and traffic/revenues is uncertain at this point. While people might pay for global access across devices to NY Times content, it will be tough to get people to pay online. We&#8217;ll see how they execute the program.</p>
<p>Blogs and other free, ad-supported news sites may stand to gain from the Times retreat behind the paywall. And of course one of the challenges for the WSJ or the forthcoming paid version of the  Times is SEO.</p>
<p><a href="http://siteanalytics.compete.com/huffingtonpost.com+nytimes.com+usatoday.com+cnn.com+news.yahoo.com/"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-17784" title="Picture 10" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-103.png?w=450&#038;h=161" alt="" width="450" height="161" /></a></p>
<p>To paraphrase and borrow from the Times&#8217; own Thomas Friedman: online all the news is flat. A paywall will put more pressure on the Times to maintain and even boost quality and offer more content and features. News online is largely a commodity. Many people will be fine getting it from Yahoo! or CNN if not the Times.</p>
<p>The Online Publishers Association continues to advocate on behalf of  premium publishers <a href="http://www.online-publishers.org/newsletter.php?newsId=641&amp;newsType=pr">with  data/research</a> and fight (perhaps a losing battle) against the the  commoditization of audiences via ad networks.</p>
<p>Separately the Times plans, according to <a href="http://adage.com/mediaworks/article?article_id=144452">AdAge</a>,  to create a &#8220;public beta testing site where it will experiment with new ideas and  applications before deciding whether they deserve to go live on  NYTimes.com. The Times expects to introduce the site, to be called  Beta620, in July or August. The &#8220;620&#8243; refers to the paper&#8217;s street  address on Eighth Avenue in New York.&#8221;</p>
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		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
	
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			<media:title type="html">Picture 9</media:title>
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		<title>AOL Sells Bebo: What a Screw Up</title>
		<link>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/16/aol-sells-bebo-what-a-screw-up/</link>
		<comments>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/16/aol-sells-bebo-what-a-screw-up/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 16 Jun 2010 18:33:46 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Greg Sterling</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Acquisitions]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social networks]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[User-generated content]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://gesterling.wordpress.com/?p=17776</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[In a massive case of &#8220;what were they thinking&#8221; AOL bought social networking site Bebo for $850 million; and in a case of &#8220;what are they thinking now,&#8221; the company has sold it, reportedly, for around $10 million to a hedge fund: Criterion Capital Partners. It was stupid for AOL to pay that much in [&#8230;]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=gesterling.wordpress.com&#038;blog=67599&#038;post=17776&#038;subd=gesterling&#038;ref=&#038;feed=1" width="1" height="1" />]]></description>
				<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img class="alignleft size-thumbnail wp-image-17777" title="Picture 7" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-79.png?w=150&#038;h=48" alt="" width="150" height="48" />In a massive case of &#8220;what were they thinking&#8221; AOL bought social networking site Bebo for $850 million; and in a case of &#8220;what are they thinking now,&#8221; the company has sold it, <a href="http://techcrunch.com/2010/06/16/aol-to-sell-bebo-for-around-10-million/">reportedly</a>, for around $10 million to a <a href="http://www.businessinsider.com/aol-to-sell-bebo-to-criterion-capital-partners-2010-6">hedge fund</a>: Criterion Capital Partners.</p>
<p>It was stupid for AOL to pay that much in the first place and maybe naive to think that it could take on Facebook. But now, on the other end, it&#8217;s probably misguided to get rid of the site for that little.</p>
<p>I don&#8217;t know what the headcount and other costs associated with Bebo are. But Facebook&#8217;s privacy flap has created an opening for others to exploit. Alternatively the site could be reinvented and/or the platform could be used in various ways (a la Yahoo-Facebook) across AOL properties perhaps.</p>
<p>Bebo could reposition as a media-sharing site for parents or families as Multiply has tried to do. Or it could be reinvented as a mobile service. The point is there are probably several ways, now that AOL wrote off its value, to use Bebo.</p>
<p>I doubt the hedge fund will do much with the site. A year or so from now they&#8217;ll flip it or be compelled to shutter it entirely.</p>
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		<slash:comments>9</slash:comments>
	
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		<title>Pandora Got Greedy So I Became a Subscriber</title>
		<link>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/16/pandora-gets-greedy-so-i-became-a-subscriber/</link>
		<comments>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/16/pandora-gets-greedy-so-i-became-a-subscriber/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 16 Jun 2010 17:43:07 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Greg Sterling</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Ad Networks]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Radio]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://gesterling.wordpress.com/?p=17768</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I was getting really sick of hearing audio ads on Pandora. In addition, the company is dramatically expanding its iPad ads program: The music service is now offering display ads on the iPad to sponsors, in addition to its banner and audio ads, and now has three big takers in Starbucks, Lexus and Budweiser. When [&#8230;]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=gesterling.wordpress.com&#038;blog=67599&#038;post=17768&#038;subd=gesterling&#038;ref=&#038;feed=1" width="1" height="1" />]]></description>
				<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img class="alignleft size-thumbnail wp-image-17769" title="Picture 3" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-33.png?w=104&#038;h=105" alt="" width="104" height="105" />I was getting really sick of hearing audio ads on Pandora. In addition, the company is <a href="http://adage.com/digital/article?article_id=144417">dramatically expanding its iPad ads program</a>:</p>
<blockquote><p>The music service is now offering display ads on the iPad to sponsors,  in addition to its banner and audio ads, and now has three big takers in  Starbucks, Lexus and Budweiser. When clicked, their ads open up a new  page but don&#8217;t interrupt the music. While all three marketers advertise  with Pandora on other platforms, the iPad offers a richer media  experience, and the company is hoping it can improve on an already-high  3.4% click-through rate.</p>
<p>Pandora now has more than 30 million users on mobile devices &#8212; and 50  million across all media &#8212; and the company is hoping to accelerate  usage by way of the iPad. Pandora founder Tim Westergren noted that the  company is signing up about 100,000 new mobile users each day. &#8220;It&#8217;s  just exploding for us,&#8221; he said. &#8220;And on mobile devices, the advertising  &#8212; particularly advertising with video &#8212; has been really effective.&#8221;</p></blockquote>
<p>While the iPad ads purport to be non-intrusive my growing displeasure over the audio ads was compelling me to do one of two things: abandon Pandora entirely or become a subscriber for an ad-free version at $36 per year. I decided to do the latter because I&#8217;ve come to use Pandora on so many devices.</p>
<p>I understand that Pandora has to make money to make a living and pay music royalties. I didn&#8217;t mind the display ads because they were non-intrusive and I could ignore them (Pandora claims a nearly 3.5% CTR). But after having gotten used to the service without audio advertising, to  hear ads for travel or the Discover card on my headphones was so jarring that it  actually made me angry.</p>
<p>Pandora was on the brink of extinction over royalties but has come roaring back as a direct beneficiary of the iPhone and, later, other smartphone platforms. Mobile is what transformed the business.</p>
<p>Now Pandora directly threatens the existence of satellite radio, which may find enterprise usage but will have difficulty further penetrating the consumer market.</p>
<p>My own behavior in this case does suggest the viability of a two-tiered model for content services. But I qualify that statement with the following: If Pandora had not gone into mobile and had remained an Internet-only service I probably would not have subscribed as I did.</p>
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		<slash:comments>15</slash:comments>
	
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		<title>GetListed Launches in UK</title>
		<link>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/getlisted-launches-in-uk/</link>
		<comments>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/getlisted-launches-in-uk/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 15 Jun 2010 21:54:21 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Greg Sterling</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Local Search]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Small Business]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://gesterling.wordpress.com/?p=17762</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[GetListed has launched a UK site/service. Same principle: input your listing information and see where your business shows up or doesn&#8217;t &#8212; as the case may be: GetListed and Palore&#8217;s AmIVisible were among the earliest of these &#8220;presence management&#8221; tools. Marchex was the first to offer combined presence and reputation management. Now most of the [&#8230;]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=gesterling.wordpress.com&#038;blog=67599&#038;post=17762&#038;subd=gesterling&#038;ref=&#038;feed=1" width="1" height="1" />]]></description>
				<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>GetListed has launched a<a href="http://uk.getlisted.org/"> UK site</a>/service. Same principle: input your listing information and see where your business shows up or doesn&#8217;t &#8212; as the case may be:</p>
<p><a href="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-291.png"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-17764" title="Picture 29" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-291.png?w=450&#038;h=382" alt="" width="450" height="382" /></a></p>
<p><a href="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-281.png"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-17763" title="Picture 28" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-281.png?w=450&#038;h=242" alt="" width="450" height="242" /></a></p>
<p>GetListed and Palore&#8217;s AmIVisible were among the earliest of these &#8220;presence management&#8221; tools. Marchex was the first to offer combined presence and reputation management. Now most of the reputation management tools and platforms include similar functionality to varying degrees.</p>
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		<slash:comments>2</slash:comments>
	
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		<title>PwC Forecast: Internet Will Soon Be #2</title>
		<link>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/pwc-forecast-internet-will-soon-be-2/</link>
		<comments>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/pwc-forecast-internet-will-soon-be-2/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 15 Jun 2010 20:46:32 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Greg Sterling</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[General online advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Newspapers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Traditional media]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://gesterling.wordpress.com/?p=17754</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[In a write up of a media and advertising forecast being released by PriceWaterhouseCoopers, the WSJ says the report estimates that by 2014 the Internet will be the second largest US ad medium after TV. Accordingly it will be larger than newspapers: The online ad business, excluding mobile ads, is set to expand to $34.4 [&#8230;]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=gesterling.wordpress.com&#038;blog=67599&#038;post=17754&#038;subd=gesterling&#038;ref=&#038;feed=1" width="1" height="1" />]]></description>
				<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img class="alignleft size-thumbnail wp-image-17755" title="Picture 24" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-243.png?w=150&#038;h=30" alt="" width="150" height="30" />In a write up of a <a href="http://www.pwc.com/gx/en/press-room/2010/E-and-M-players-seek-new-roles-digital-value-chain.jhtml">media and advertising forecast being released by PriceWaterhouseCoopers</a>, the WSJ <a href="http://blogs.wsj.com/digits/2010/06/15/internet-is-set-to-overtake-newspapers-in-ad-revenue/">says</a> the report estimates that by 2014 the Internet will be the second largest US ad medium after TV. Accordingly it will be larger than newspapers:</p>
<blockquote><p>The online ad business, excluding mobile ads, is set to expand to  $34.4 billion in 2014 from $24.2 billion in 2009, according to the  report, which PwC plans to release Tuesday.</p>
<p>Newspapers, meanwhile, continue to suffer from a decline in  advertising revenue. According to numbers released by the Newspaper  Association of America earlier this year, print advertising revenue  dropped 28.6% in 2009 to $24.82 billion. The PwC report estimates that  print advertising in newspapers will hit $22.3 billion by 2014.</p></blockquote>
<p>PwC also predicts that mobile will grow from $414 million in 2009 to $1.6 billion in 2014.</p>
<p>At once this prediction is both unsurprising and shocking. And dare I say it: despite its targeting and tracking the Internet is a relatively bland, annoying and creatively ineffective ad medium. There are isolated exceptions to this, including paid search &#8212; which can be bland but has proven very effective.</p>
<p>So the Internet has replaced the &#8220;art&#8221; of traditional media advertising with the &#8220;science&#8221; of targeting. Maybe the world of mobile and tablets in particular can marry the two.</p>
<p>Here&#8217;s something that was brought to my attention along those lines: <a href="http://www.marketwatch.com/story/ipad-ads-deliver-high-engagement-interaction-time-2010-06-15?reflink=MW_news_stmp">Ads on iPad Perform Six Times Better Than on Desktop</a>.</p>
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		<title>YPG Debuts iPad App</title>
		<link>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/ypg-debuts-ipad-app/</link>
		<comments>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/ypg-debuts-ipad-app/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 15 Jun 2010 16:40:35 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Greg Sterling</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Canada]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Coupons]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Internet Yellow Pages]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Local Search]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Small Business]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://gesterling.wordpress.com/?p=17741</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Canada&#8217;s Yellow Pages Group becomes the second major YP publisher (after Yellowbook) to launch an app for the iPad. It also promotes other YPG properties, such as its Urbanizer iPhone app, Restaurantica and its deals site, RedFlagDeals.com. However the buttons below take users to the Internet versions of those sites rather than specially iPad/mobile optimized [&#8230;]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=gesterling.wordpress.com&#038;blog=67599&#038;post=17741&#038;subd=gesterling&#038;ref=&#038;feed=1" width="1" height="1" />]]></description>
				<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Canada&#8217;s Yellow Pages Group <a href="http://www.marketwatch.com/story/the-yellow-pages-mobile-application-now-available-on-ipadtm-2010-06-15-1058510?reflink=MW_news_stmp">becomes</a> the second major YP publisher (after <a href="http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/04/16/yellowbook-first-major-yp-on-ipad/">Yellowbook</a>) to launch an app for the iPad. It also promotes other YPG properties, such as its Urbanizer iPhone app, Restaurantica and its <a href="http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/02/22/ypg-buys-coupon-site-411-brand/">deals site</a>, RedFlagDeals.com. However the buttons below take users to the Internet versions of those sites rather than specially iPad/mobile optimized versions.</p>
<p>Overall my sense is that the app is a good start but can be tweaked improved, especially at the profile page level.</p>
<p><a href="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-191.png"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-17742" title="Picture 19" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-191.png?w=450&#038;h=595" alt="" width="450" height="595" /></a></p>
<p><a href="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-201.png"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-17743" title="Picture 20" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-201.png?w=450&#038;h=599" alt="" width="450" height="599" /></a></p>
<p><a href="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-181.png"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-17744" title="Picture 18" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-181.png?w=450&#038;h=596" alt="" width="450" height="596" /></a></p>
<p>A couple of thoughts:</p>
<p>Three years ago I wrote about the &#8220;<a href="http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2007/01/24/the-coming-pc-in-the-kitchen/">PC in the kitchen</a>&#8221; that would replace the phone book. This is it &#8212; it&#8217;s where my iPad sits much of the time.</p>
<p>One of the simple YPG iPad app features that I like, which is relatively common across directory sites, is favorites and recent searches. This becomes an informal list of contacts &#8212; you can also add SMBs or locations to the formal iPad contacts &#8212; for quick reference. So in the kitchen this is like a phone book in a way. The potential for engagement around this simple idea is quite high.</p>
<p>The next step is for the iPad to become a phone, which it is with the Skype app, and integrate calling into an app like this. So when I tap the number above, Skype launches and I can call the business. YPG could track that call and get credit for delivering it. You get the idea.</p>
<p>The YPG iPad app is also a potentially great &#8220;deals&#8221; platform. Coupons/deals should be integrated into this app as well. One could imagine a Groupon-like local deal of the day . . .</p>
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		<title>ReachLocal Gets Bizzy</title>
		<link>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/reachlocal-gets-bizzy/</link>
		<comments>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/reachlocal-gets-bizzy/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 15 Jun 2010 14:00:16 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Greg Sterling</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[General online advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Internet Yellow Pages]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Local Search]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Small Business]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social search/community]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://gesterling.wordpress.com/?p=17727</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[ReachLocal has built what amounts to an SMB CRM platform, undoubtedly based on its ClouldProfile/SMBLive acquisition last year. The new site, Bizzy, performs a range of functions for SMBs and explicitly links local businesses and consumers who want to receive offers and updates: Local businesses of any kind, such as restaurants, boutiques, stores, service providers, [&#8230;]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=gesterling.wordpress.com&#038;blog=67599&#038;post=17727&#038;subd=gesterling&#038;ref=&#038;feed=1" width="1" height="1" />]]></description>
				<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img class="alignleft size-thumbnail wp-image-17730" title="Picture 11" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-111.png?w=150&#038;h=50" alt="" width="150" height="50" />ReachLocal has <a href="http://www.marketwatch.com/story/reachlocal-announces-three-city-beta-launch-of-bizzy-2010-06-15?reflink=MW_news_stmp">built</a> what amounts to an SMB CRM platform, undoubtedly based on its ClouldProfile/SMBLive acquisition last year. The new site, <a href="http://www.bizzy.com">Bizzy</a>, performs a range of functions for SMBs and explicitly links local businesses and consumers who want to receive offers and updates:</p>
<blockquote><p>Local businesses of any kind, such as restaurants, boutiques, stores,        service providers, and spas, can use Bizzy&#8217;s easy-to-use tools to  drive        better communication with their customers. As a local business,  Bizzy        enables you to:</p>
<p>&#8211;         Exercise broad control over your profile&#8217;s content so you can  easily          display your business information and fresh content about your  latest          offers and events. If a customer posts an inappropriate comment,  you          may remove it from the public eye and address it in private &#8212;  just          like you would in person.</p>
<p>&#8211;         Engage with your customers when they are in the right frame of  mind,          ready to see what you have to offer, away from the noise of  other          messages.</p>
<p>&#8211;         Create the one customer list you will ever need by importing  your          existing customer database into Bizzy with a simple one-step  upload          tool, or by adding a customer on the fly by simply entering  their          email address.</p>
<p>&#8211;         Create marketing messages in a snap.</p></blockquote>
<p><a href="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-92.png"></a><a href="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-102.png"><img class="alignnone size-full wp-image-17729" title="Picture 10" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-102.png?w=450&#038;h=387" alt="" width="450" height="387" /></a></p>
<p>Great concept, though not unique (think: &#8220;fan,&#8221; &#8220;follow&#8221;). It&#8217;s also a direction that many tools and companies are moving (see &#8220;reputation management&#8221; generally and also Perry Evans&#8217; Closely). Now we come to the familiar &#8220;poulet  et œufs&#8221; problem &#8212; usage/adoption.</p>
<p>AT&amp;T is struggling with Buzz.com, which is intended to be an alternative consumer tool and distribution platform for its content and advertisers. Facebook and Twitter are both &#8220;critical mass&#8221; sites where SMBs can do some of  what Bizzy offers &#8212; although there&#8217;s more structure and guidance at Bizzy. Bizzy appears to use Facebook and Twitter to distribute its messages and offers as well.</p>
<p>As you can see in the above profile and press release bullets there are reputation management and SEO angles here. And perhaps SEO is the front door and primary user acquisition strategy for Reach.</p>
<p>I&#8217;ll be going through this later today with them to gain more insight into the strategy and answers to some of these questions (as well as my personal existential questions).</p>
<p>Why did ReachLocal build this? Potential answers include:</p>
<ul>
<li>They saw a hole in the market and are fulfilling a perceived need for simpler SMB CRM tools</li>
<li>They are adding services to their portfolio to better serve and retain businesses</li>
<li>They need more &#8220;free&#8221; traffic to sustain or grow margins and this is one potential source</li>
<li>All of the above</li>
</ul>
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		<title>Twitter Places: Wheat/Chaff</title>
		<link>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/twitter-places-wheatchaff/</link>
		<comments>http://gesterling.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/twitter-places-wheatchaff/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 15 Jun 2010 13:27:57 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Greg Sterling</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Local Search]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Mapping]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Mobile]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Small Business]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[User-generated content]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://gesterling.wordpress.com/?p=17716</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Twitter yesterday announced Places &#8212; Tweets associated with a specific location: Starting today, you can tag Tweets with specific places, including all World Cup stadiums in South Africa, and create new Twitter Places. You can also click a Twitter Place within a Tweet to see recent Tweets from a particular location. Try it out during [&#8230;]<img alt="" border="0" src="http://stats.wordpress.com/b.gif?host=gesterling.wordpress.com&#038;blog=67599&#038;post=17716&#038;subd=gesterling&#038;ref=&#038;feed=1" width="1" height="1" />]]></description>
				<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p><img class="alignleft size-thumbnail wp-image-17717" title="Picture 7" src="http://gesterling.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/picture-77.png?w=150&#038;h=44" alt="" width="150" height="44" />Twitter yesterday announced <a href="http://blog.twitter.com/2010/06/twitter-places-more-context-for-your.html">Places</a> &#8212; Tweets associated with a specific location:</p>
<blockquote><p>Starting today,  you can tag Tweets with specific places, including all World Cup  stadiums in South Africa, and create new Twitter Places. You can also  click a Twitter Place within a Tweet to see recent Tweets from a  particular location. Try it out during the next match—you will be able  to see Tweets coming from the stadium.</p></blockquote>
<p>What&#8217;s new here is the local precision and the fact that all tagged Tweets about a place (Disneyland, Louvre, The Vatican, Angkor Wat, Tommy&#8217;s Burgers, etc.) will have a dedicated page or pages. Users will also be able to search for those Tweets much more easily than before.</p>
<p>In addition, Twitter Places incorporates Foursquare and Gowalla check-in information. There will also be an API so third parties can take the local Tweets and use them on their sites or build apps/tools around the content.</p>
<p>TomTom and Localeze are data partners, providing place and business data on a global basis (65 countries). TomTom owns TeleAtlas.</p>
<p>Matt McGee at <a href="http://searchengineland.com/twitter-places-might-challenge-googles-local-dominance-44393">SEL</a> offers some thoughts on how this might challenge Google Places. However Google might incorporate Tweets from the API into Google Places as well.</p>
<p>In a presentation I did &#8212; The Revolution Will Be Geotagged &#8212; I argued that we&#8217;ve gone from a paucity of local data to a deluge. The challenge now is organizing and filtering all the location-based information coming out. That will be the challenge here too, with Twitter Places.</p>
<p>Make no mistake, this is a major move for Twitter and potentially one that will define its &#8220;next phase of growth.&#8221; The information generated could well be of high value to users; but there will still be a great deal of garbage in the stream as well.</p>
<p>There will be the &#8220;fun&#8221; and informative real-time posts associated with a Place (&#8220;I&#8217;m here,&#8221; &#8220;Me too,&#8221; &#8220;Whoa, check that out&#8221;). And then there will be what we might call &#8220;utility content&#8221; &#8212; tips, reviews, helpful information that&#8217;s more evergreen. Indexing, preserving and presenting that evergreen information is what I&#8217;m talking about.</p>
<p><em>&#8220;You know what I&#8217;m sayin&#8217;&#8221;? </em></p>
<p>Third parties may actually be in a much better position than Twitter itself to organize and filter the flood of new LBS Tweets that will be generated.</p>
<p>Matt McGee, crediting <a href="http://www.localsearchnews.net/twitter-the-local-monetization-strategy/">Steve Espinoza</a>, discusses the notion of dedicated page for locations (a la Google Places) that offers an opportunity for SMBs (and others) to claim listings and presents a structured profile. I agree. That will undoubtedly come. Either Twitter will do it itself or somebody else will. That approach could address the wheat/chaff issue.</p>
<p>As Steve argues in the reverenced post, it then  presents monetization scenarios for Twitter of various sorts beyond Promoted Tweets. Yet if users start to conduct local searches on Twitter because the information about locations and businesses is getting better and more useful, Promoted Tweets become very interesting in that context as well.</p>
<p>How all this plays out remains to be seen of course. But I regard this evolution of location on Twitter as a potentially very significant development. It will help to create a new &#8220;culture&#8221; and set of behaviors around location among Twitter users.</p>
<p>Twitter&#8217;s COO Dick Costello recently said that the site sees 190 million users per month (globally), who are posting 65 million Tweets daily. That makes Twitter and its UGC &#8220;firehose&#8221; a potential force to be reckoned with in local.</p>
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