SMB Interview from Mike B

Mike Blumenthal has a fascinating interview with an SMB marketer in which he discusses print yellow pages, Google Maps, tracking coupons and very positive opinions about Merchant Circle:

I advertise based on the times. If it is slow, I advertise more. Our average customer count is 15 per day so traffic is very important to us. 

I always use coupons in my advertising and I never repeat the same coupon in more than one source. I always know exactly where it comes from. I have run newspaper ads on in-store promos and never had coupons redeemd. We rarely saw a coupon, there was amost zero redemption so we cut back newspaper adverts substantially. 

We gather email addresses very aggressively. We try to get emails from everyone coming into the store. I email our customer base 1-2 times per week.  I am always running a promotion. For example if I have overstock I will put the item on sale. We also do a lot of classes so once per week, I send out  links to our web site calendar. 

We change the website daily and use Google Analytics to track visits.

You can read the rest of the interview here.

4 Responses to “SMB Interview from Mike B”

  1. Cottage Holder Says:

    Greg,

    This is a great MerchantCircle user who has been with MerchantCircle for a couple of years. I think he is in my network or I have seen him on the forums or maybe it was this newsletter It was great learning more about him. We have found Google picks up the MerchantCircle coupons.

  2. Greg Sterling Says:

    Any more feedback on MC? What about your experiences.

  3. Tom Says:

    This interview is great. I would love to see more direct analysis of what Merchants are doing online

  4. Greg Sterling Says:

    Agree. It’s just challenging to get at these folks.

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

