New MSFT Ad: Funny, Won’t Sell Vista

Although this is reportedly just the first in a longer series of commercials featuring Jerry Seinfeld, if the others are anything like this one they won’t necessarily do anything to boost Vista. They may create a favorable view of Microsoft as a company, by association, however. We’ll see.

Bill Gates is already well regarded (because of his foundation, etc.). This spot is mostly about Gates himself and not Microsoft the company.

If you like Seinfeld you’re likely to think the commercial is funny/quirky (I do). Many people have said they don’t “get it” or that it’s “not funny.” But it’s really just about creating buzz and starting to get people to think about Microsoft in a slightly different way. In those limited respects, I believe it succeeds. (I’m apparently in the minority.)

But you tell me:

11 Responses to “New MSFT Ad: Funny, Won’t Sell Vista”

  1. Michael Bauer Says:

    This is why I’ll never understand real marketing people. Somehow getting someone to talk about computers as being soft and chewy would just never occur to me. Of course, I’ve just said what they wanted me to think so I guess it does work. Vista is like a big bread stick. Better than a pit bull with lipstick.

  2. Greg Sterling Says:

    Bravo!

  3. joe Says:

    But why Seinfeld and why now? Isn’t he rather dated, and if so what does it say about MSFT?

  4. Greg Sterling Says:

    He did have the Bee Movie πŸ™‚

  5. Malcolm Lewis Says:

    The money would be better spent figuring out how to play in a world where the browser becomes the new desktop OS, eliminating the need for Windows.

  6. Greg Sterling Says:

    Malcolm:

    That’s where you’re wrong. Microsoft would be better off giving the lion’s share of that $300 ad budget directly to me. πŸ™‚

  7. David Gerard Says:

    What’s the message? “Vista is hard, let’s go shopping!”

    I toldja, they shoulda gone with a tried and tested comedic genius. http://tinyurl.com/5c3r6y

  8. Malcolm Lewis Says:

    I know it looks like they were working off a $300 ad budget, but I think it was more like $300M. And I’m afraid $300M would corrupt you beyond redemption Greg πŸ˜‰

  9. Greg Sterling Says:

    Meant $300M of course!

  10. Funny Things Says:

    Sometimes i feel bad for Microsoft lol everyone seems to be against them, but then i think about all the money they have haha

  11. Windows Is Cheaper, but There’s Danger There « Screenwerk Says:

    […] first installment using Jerry Seinfeld was apparently confusing (though I liked the ads). The next set of commercials “I’m a […]

Comments are closed.