Changes at Google Local Business Center

Mike Blumenthal covers a range of changes being introduced to Google’s Local Business Center. These moves come as Google seeks to make it a more effective and efficient way to directly obtain content from businesses as well as to combat “mapspam.” (See my interview with Google’s Carter Maslan on the subject.)

Google’s got some potentially very interesting things up its proverbial sleeve for SMBs/local. I’m not sure they will all come to pass and I don’t want anyone to hunt me down and kill me of course. So we’ll wait and see.

Mike has also said we’ll see a revamp of coupons in Google’s LBC. Coupons are now (once again) a hot category for several reasons; the bad economy is one of them.

3 Responses to “Changes at Google Local Business Center”

  1. AhmedF Says:

    I asked on Mike’s blog – asking here too: Is there a verified program for local marketing firms that are representing clients? And if not, why not?

  2. martijn Says:

    AhmedF, I think you should get in contact with your agency consultant from Google. And ask them what the possibilities are. In public, Google is not very clear on these matters.

  3. Greg Sterling Says:

    I’m not aware of such a program. There’s the certified reseller program for large scale reps (e.g., YP publishers, SEM firms like Yodle, ReachLocal) but nothing on a smaller scale that I’m aware of.

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

